Announcement 7-11-2020

Deacon Nominations

Please prayerfully consider 4 persons to sit on the Deacon Body. You may place your nominations in the drop box (aka popcorn can) provided through August 16th, 2020. If you are at a higher risk during Covid 19 and are unable to attend Wednesday and Sunday services, please be aware that the church office is open Tuesday through Friday, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., and you may also vote during this time. Voting slips will also be available at the church office.  Additionally,  a list of eligible members will be posted on the bulletin board outside Pastor Rudy’s office. We hope to find a way to e-mail this list out as well, within the next few days. Also on that board will be a copy of the relevant Bylaws explaining the process. However, we ask that you keep these very important characteristics required in our Bylaws in mind when selecting your nominees:

“The essential element needed is that of a godly character.  Deacons must be willing to make the necessary time commitments to fulfill their responsibilities and must demonstrate support of the church.  Only members who are at least 21 years of age and have belonged to the church for a period of one (1) year may serve as deacons. ”  

The following exiting deacons are not eligible for nomination this year: Jerry Hepler, Melodee Pruitt, Fred Taylor and Beth Suggs. We thank these deacons for their service to BIBC. Also, current sitting deacons  are not eligible for nomination (for obvious reasons).  These members are Shirley Britt,  Mark Burroughs, Everett Graham,  George Kelley, Pat McGinnis, Lynda Simmons and Otho Tew and Denise Whidby.  Thank you in advance for your prayerful consideration, as you consider your candidates for the diaconate this year.